Sully Buttes Jazz Band

Concert goers were greeted by the scent of popcorn in the air, and an opportunity to support the ABO music program through the free will donate concession stand. Decorations by the Guthmiller family combined with the aroma of popcorn and the sounds created by Sully Buttes musicians to create a big top worthy vibe at the 2019 Sully Buttes Pops Concert, The Greatest Show, last Tuesday, May 14, in the main gym in Onida.

Appropriately outfitted in a ringmaster red blazer, Sully Buttes Instrumental and Vocal Music instructor Erica Paxton directed the Sully Buttes Jazz Band, All-State Chorus and Alternates, Girls Chorus, Mixed Chorus, and Concert Band in performing selections from The Greatest Showman, the 2017 American musical drama film inspired by the story of P. T. Barnum's creation of the Barnum & Bailey Circus and the lives of its star attractions. Marla Mosiman accompanied the vocal groups on piano.

The concert opened with the Sully Buttes Jazz Band performing with brass fanfare The Greatest Show.

The All State Chorus and Alternates took on Rewrite the Stars, which in the movie sees the character playwright Phillip Carlyle serenading character Anne Wheeler, trying to convince her that they're meant to be together, despite their differences.

In Tightrope, the Girls Chorus performed a song about the isolation felt by the family of Barnum as he is away from them growing the circus.

The Mixed Chorus performed the back and forth between Barnum and Carlyle in The Other Side in which Barnum convinces Carlyle to join the venture. They also sang Come Alive, relating Barnum’s pursuit of performers for his Circus.

After an interlude where music awards were distributed, the concert closed with the Concert Band performing a medley from The Greatest Showman, including The Greatest Show, Never Enough, A Million Dreams, This Is Me, and From Now On, with solos by Kara Huse, Angela Guthmiller, and Jordan Schall.

Recipients of major choral awards included: All State Chorus Alternates – Brittney Todd, Kallie Murphy, Griffin Petersen, Darion Osterkamp; All-State Chorus – Avery Weinheimer, Angela Guthmiller, Lydia Hill, Collin Bradberry; Most Dedicated – Brittney Todd; Most Improved Underclassmen – Griffin Petersen, Darion Osterkamp; Most Outstanding Senior – Kallie Murphy; Most Outstanding Underclassmen – Angela Guthmiller, Avery Weinheimer; and National School Choral Award – Brittney Todd.

Recipients of major band awards included: All State Band – Angela Guthmiller; Emeritus Musicus Award – Angela Guthmiller; John Phillip Sousa Award – Kara Huse; Marching Band Drill Down Champion – Darion Osterkamp; Marching Band Outstanding Squad Leader – Landon Severson; Most Improved Band Member – Trichelle White; Most Outstanding HS Student – Garrett Petersen; Most Outstanding JH Student – Taryn Kenzy; North Area Honor Band – Brianna Fanger, Angela Guthmiller, Kara Huse, Karissa Osterkamp, Landon Severson; and Wilbur Hofer Award – Brittney Todd.