Begin circulating nominating petitions in January

Individuals planning to seek elected office in 2022 may begin circulating petitions in January.

All but one of the positions on the Onida City Council are vacant in 2022, and candidates may begin circulating nominating petitions on January 28. The office of Mayor is vacant as are the seats of council members representing Wards I, II, and III. Those offices are currently held by Mayor LaJena Gruis, Ward I Councilmembers Caleb Shepherd and Jessica Olivier, Ward II Councilmembers Brooke Jacquot and Justin Mennenger, and Ward III Councilmember Marla Mosiman. Nominating petitions for city office must be filed by 5:00 p.m. on February 25, and the election is scheduled for April 12, 2022.

Three county level offices become vacant at the end of 2022 and are up for election. Candidates may begin circulating nominating petitions on January 1. The offices of Sully County Auditor, Register of Deeds, and Sheriff are vacant, as are three commission seats. The Auditor position is currently held by Susan Lamb; Lynette Murphy is serving as Register of Deeds; and Bill Stahl is serving as Sully County Sheriff. Vacancies on the county commission are for the seats currently held by Bill Floyd (District 1), Joe Fanger (District 5), and Greg Yackley (District 3). Nominating petitions for county office must be filed by March 29, 2022. The 2022 Primary Election is on June 7, 2022 and the General Election on November 8, 2022.

Statewide, the seats of District 24 legislators become vacant in 2022. The offices are currently held by Senator Mary Duvall and Representatives Will Mortenson and Mike Weisgram. Seven state executive offices are up for election in South Dakota in 2022: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Auditor, and Public Lands Commissioner. The executive offices becoming vacant are currently held by Governor Kristi Noem, Lieutenant Governor Larry Rhoden, Secretary of State Steve Barnett, Attorney General Jason Ravnsborg, State Auditor Rich Sattgast, State Treasurer Josh Haeder, and School and Public Lands Commissioner Ryan Brunner. Candidates may begin circulating nominating petitions January 1, and petitions for candidates with a Primary Election are due March 29. Petitions for Independent candidates are due April 26, 2022.

For eight year terms, Sixth Judicial Circuit judges Christina L. Klinger, Margo D. Northrup, Bridget M. Mayer, and Presiding Judge Bobbi J Rank will also be on the ballot in 2022.

For federal office, South Dakotans will go to the polls to fill the US Senate seat currently held by Senator Mike Rounds and the US House seat currently held by Representative Dusty Johnson.

Also slated for consideration by the electorate in 2022 are the following measures: An initiated amendment to the South Dakota Constitution expanding Medicaid eligibility and An initiated measure legalizing the possession, use, and distribution of marijuana.

Voters wishing to vote in the June 7 Primary Election must be registered to vote by May 23, 2022. Absentee voting for the June 7 Primary begins April 22, 2022. For the November 8, 2022 General Election, voters must be registered by October 24, 2022 and absentee voting begins September 23, 2022.