On behalf of the Sully Buttes Student Council, Student Body President Jill Hofer offered thanks and praise to the ABO School Board during their meeting Monday.

The Agar-Blunt-Onida School District will join districts across the state to thank school board members for their leadership and dedication to our schools and communities during South Dakota School Board Recognition Week from February 15-19.

“This is a good opportunity to recognize our school board for their service to our children and communities,” said Superintendent Kevin Pickner.

The women and men serving Agar-Blunt-Onida School District and their years of service:

Robert Graff – 35

Kimberley Farries – 13

Cheri Wittler – 11

Tory Smith – 9

Melani Paiz – 5

Megan Jaeger – 4

Tom Yackley - 1

This group is responsible for setting the overall direction and goals for the district, striving to provide a quality education for all students. The school board also hires quality educators, adopts policies, sets budgets and evaluates progress while always keeping the best interests of our students in mind. During School Board Recognition Week, the Agar-Blunt-Onida School District invites students, staff, parents and community members to take part in thanking its school board members. “As elected leaders, school board members serve as the link between the school and our community members,” Superintendent Pickner said. “They work tirelessly for our students, staff and schools.”