Marileen Tilberg

Marileen Tilberg

Watchman Editor Emerita Marileen Tilberg is one of ten women from all corners of the state to be nominated for the prestigious Spirit of Dakota Award.

Marileen is lauded in her nomination for being ‘an outstanding South Dakota woman who, on the cusp of change, has demonstrated vision, courage, and strength of character in the development of her family, community, and state through her daring and bold attitude, and that she is a role model for present and future generations.’

She joins other nominees Angela Ehlers, Presho; Caryn Hojer, DeSmet; Robyn S Freedom Flickinger, DeSmet; Coleen Liebsch, Arlington; Kristi Noem, Pierre; Roberta Hindberg, Tea; Jody Moritz, Faulkton; Sandra Larson, Box Elder and Linda Witt, Bristol.

The Spirit of Dakota Award is South Dakota’s premier woman’s award, and honors an outstanding South Dakota woman who has demonstrated leadership qualities and has been successful and admired in her community and state.

The inspiration for the award is the 9-foot bronze prairie lady, Spirit of Dakota, which stands in front of the Crossroads Hotel and Huron Event Center. The statue captures in bronze the character, strength and courage of prairie women.

South Dakota artist Dale Lamphere sculpted Spirit of Dakota. The Dignity statue in Chamberlain and Arc of Dreams sculpture in Sioux Falls are some of Lamphere’s more recent works.

This is the 35th anniversary of the Spirit of Dakota Award which was established in 1987. The winner is chosen by a state-wide commission of Tona Rozum, Chair, Mitchell; Julie Garreau, Eagle Butte; Carol Johnson, Watertown; Julie M Johnson, Aberdeen; Jean Hunhoff, Yankton; Suzette Kirby, Sioux Falls; Marsha Sumpter, Kadoka; Ginger Thomson, Brookings and Bev Wright, Turton.

South Dakota’s premier woman’s award will be presented Saturday October 2nd at the Huron Event Center beginning with an art show at 4:00 p.m., social 5:30 p.m. and banquet 6:30 p.m.

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber Office: 605-352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.